Testimonials

Read more testimonials....

In late December of 2014, Dr. Kelly did a total lef hip replacement for me.  I had been living with left leg pain for several years thinking it was a nerve problem. I have to say that I feel like a new man and several years younger to boot! I had forgotten what it was like to live without constant pain.  Dr. Kelly is awesome! He and the entire staff at GIKK were so caring and understanding and made the whole process easier to handle from a patient perspective. If I have to have my other hip replaced at any point in the future, I will defintely return to Dr. Kelly.  Thank you, doctor, for everything.

Hank K., Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I am a 66 year old male and I had knee replacement surgery on both knees in the last year. My right knee was a unicompartmental replacement and my left knee was a bicompartmental replacement. Surgery went better than expected and my knees feel better than they have in twenty years. Both surgeries went better than I ever expected. Not nearly as painful as I thought it would be. I believe Dr. Kelly is a true professional and I have a great deal of respect for him. Absolutely top notch and I would do it again in a second if I ever need it. A very classy doctor with a very classy staff. He is not only a great doctor, but a great guy too. I would highly recommend him to anyone!

Lloyd, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I am 80 years old and have had my right knee replaced twice and the left once.  I can honestly say Dr. Kelly has made it possible for me to dance again, yes I said DANCE!  I recently was having trouble with my last surgery which was 8 years ago and thought I had injured it.  Dr. Kelly x-rayed it for me and found it was perfectly fine.  He suggested I read a book called "Younger Next Year".  I was already going to the gym maybe twice a week, now after reading that book and the pep talk I received from Dr. Kelly, now I go five times a week religously.  I feel AWESOME!! I can not say enought good about Doc Kelly.  My children (all 12) just gave me a surprise 80th birthday party where I danced all night with 5 of my sons!!! :) THANK YOU Dr. Kelly!  

Virginia T., Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I am 56 years old, and have had partial knee replacement surgery on both knees, done by Dr. Kelly, within the last year (one in Sept. '11, one in Dec. '11). It's a miracle to be able to walk upright again (not bowlegged) and virtually without pain. Another doctor had told me about 3-4 years ago that I was a candidate for knee replacement surgery (due to arthritis; bone on bone on the inside of both of my knees) but that I was too young and would have to wait. Now, I walk like a normal person and am able to hike long distances with my husband, and keep up with him! We have all kinds of plans for mountain hikes. It's awesome. Thank you, Dr. Kelly!

Marianne F., Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I have had rheumatoid arthritis for 35 years, needless to say, the disease has taken a toll on my joints making it necessary to have total hip replacement surgery. Upon the recommendation of my rheumatologist, I chose Dr. Kelly for this procedure.

I have nothing but praise for Dr. Kelly and his entire staff, including the care given by staff in the Joint Replacement Center at Bergan Mercy Hospital. From the initial visit to consult with Dr. Kelly through the actual surgery and follow up visits, he always took the time to explain procedures and answer any questions I had. I am free of hip pain, something that six months ago I couldn't believe was possible.

I would definitely recommend Dr. Kelly to anyone needing hip/knee joint replacement.

Betty, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Howdy Joint Pain Sufferers:

I am a 68 year old male . My left knee had given me fits for several years. I finally got tired of the shots, the cane and the walker and saw Dr. Kelly for help, he recommended a uni-knee (partial ) replacement. He was so right.

Dr. Kelly did the surgery at the Midwest Surgical Hospital in Omaha. This place is first class. The care is like a 5 star hotel. The help REALLY cares and will not tolerate a patient being in pain.

I don't know if I am an exception, but the surgery was on Wednesday afternoon. I was discharged Friday morning. By Sunday the walker was gone and I didn't need the cane after a week. The Physical Therapy was a breeze, and after one month I was 70% healed and walking like a person again. There is virtually no scar.

Dr. Kelly knows his stuff. He is meticulous and thorough, almost to a fault, and I recommend him highly.

Courtney C., Elkhorn, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dr. Kelly replaced my knee in the summer of 2011. At 3 weeks, I could tell I had absolutely made the right decision for me. Dr. Kelly displays great passion for his work and he took all the time I needed to be confident in my decision for surgery. I would recommend him highly.

Anne L., Blair, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I recently had a total hip replacement (11/19/12) from Dr. Kelly. He was very thorough and extremely knowledgeable. It was refreshing to have a doctor that would call you after hours to report results of CT/MRI reports and to ask if I had any questions.  In this day and age, a personal touch does not typically happen with an extremely busy, top quality surgeon.  Dr.  Kelly is easy to talk to and very personable.  He treats you as a person, not just another surgical patient.  He did an excellent job intervening and managing a complicated situation and I owe him my life for how quickly he was able to coordinate with other specialists to make it possible for a full recovery.  The incision was the work of an artist and the way he did it greatly reduced the risk of infection.  Scarring is minimal and healed quickly.  Six weeks post surgery, I am noticing significant improvement in the pain and mobility and by three months I expect to be better than new! Also, the Midwest Surgical Center was extremely professional and the care was top notch.  I am grateful we found Dr. Kelly and his staff.  Thank you and God Bless!

Nancy S., Bellevue, NE

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

On May 7, 2012, I had my left knee operated on.  It (my knee) was by far was the worst due to a stroke and arthritis.  I had very little control if it.  But after surgery and physical therapy, I am getting around great! Walking without any help to speak of.  I didn't ever think it would be this great again. Dr. Kelly did a great job on it and I am getting better every day. Thank you Dr. Kelly - my hat is off to you. Three cheers to you - I don't think you could have done any better. I would recomend you to any one!

Richard R., Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

In early 2011, I was told by a knee surgeon that my right knee was bone on bone and I needed complete knee surgery. Perhaps a bit troubled by what that meant for me as a 72 year old, I decided then to visit another surgeon, Dr. Kelly.  After some additional diagnostic tests and hands on knee exam, he was of the same opinion so surgery was scheduled for early April. Although somewhat disappointed, I had hopes that at least my recovery might be faster with good rehab and up-to-date procedures. Later at the pre-surgery visit, Dr Kelly reviewed the prior test results including pain levels and the MRI. He then decided to consult directly with two radiologists on the condition of my ACL and upon hearing favorable comments, it led to a discussion with him about doing a partial knee surgery.  Wow, that was exactly what I had hoped for and I could hardly believe we were having that conversation! So we decided he would look at the ACL during surgery, and if the condition was healthy, he would instead perform the partial knee replacement.

When I saw Dr Kelly the next morning in the hospital, he said I was able to have the partial (knee replacement). While I couldn't jump out of bed and give him a hug, I was extremely elated and grateful.  From my perspective, it seems unreal that he took the time to reassess my condition and to apply his experience and skill in conserving most of the knee parts through partial surgery.

After surgery, I was able to walk with assisting devices during the initial week. Following a good rehab, I am back doing my normal activities.  I feel like I am 10 years younger (better energy, nearly painless, more flexible and fuller range of motion).

Thank you DOC KELLY!  From the top of my head to my little toe in my right foot!!

A happy patient,

Donald, Elkhorn, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dr. Kelly is the best knee surgeon.  I have had both knees, full replacement. Very successful. Completely out of pain. Would recommend him to everyone.

Patricia, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I am seventy years old and I have had two total knee replacements.  Dr. Kelly was my surgeon. He uses the latest technology, specific for size and gender.  He follows his surgery with intensive physical therapy.

It has been a year since my last surgery.  I am back playing tennis in a doubles league once a week.  My husband and I ride our bikes along the Missouri River. I walk the track every day and lift upper body weights.

I totally forget I have had two knee replacements. Thank you, Dr. Kelly.  God bless you and the work you do!

Mary, Sioux City, IA

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

In just a little over three months since knee surgery, I am completely satisfied with Dr. Kelly's surgery and post op care.  I would recommend him highly!

Milt, Bennington, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I am 68 years old. My left hip replacement was done October 3, 2012.  I went back to work November 13, 2012.  My pain is gone and healing has gone very well.  My right hip was replaced also by Dr. Kelly in March 2010.  I am a bionic grandma! People ask if I have pain - the pain you have before surgery is gone after surgery.  The post-op pain is controlled with medication.  You are slowed down for a couple weeks, but each day is better.  Dr. Kelly does an excellent job of explaining what he will be doing, what to expect and makes sure he has answered all of your questions. 

I live 165 miles from Omaha but the trip to Dr. Kelly has been very rewarding. Don't wait!

Mary K. Loup City, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

When I first saw Dr. Kelly in March 2008, I had just resigned as a high school varsity basketball coach because I didn't believe I could handle the physical demands of the job anymore.  I was almost to a point where I should have used crutches or even a wheelchair due to extreme hip pain.  Dr. Kelly recommended that I have a total right hip replacement and I had the surgery May 5, 2008.  The recovery was a success and I was able to walk approximately 4-5 miles a day once I was completely healed.  Dr. Kelly did tell me at the time that I would probably need a left total hip replacement in three years.  Well, he was right.  I had my left hip replaced on July 27, 2011.  The recovery is going extremely well (I think it is because of the fact I was able to exercise as much as I did after the first hip replacement!) and I am looking forward to playing golf before it starts getting cold! 

I want to thank Dr. Kelly and his crew for doing such a great job and, basically, giving me my quality of life back!!

Jim, Springfield, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dr. Kelly performed a right knee replacement on October 25th, 2010. The surgery was successful; recovery was without incident, and I was able to walk around the house in about a week.  The entire experience was positive.  I highly recommend Dr. Kelly for total knee replacement.

Bryce, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

In the fall of 2004, I made an appointment with Dr. Kelly because of pain in both knees. On October 19, 2004 he operated on my left knee, and put in a partial/uni-knee.  The surgery went well.  I had a real fast recovery.  After surgery, I attended joint camp which was hard, but I feel it is a very important part of recovery. I feel I exceed a range of motion (in my knee) that neither I nor Dr. Kelly expected. I now have full use of knee, with no pain! I live on a farm and have a lot of extra activities such as caring for my yard and garden along with exercise classes.

I was very satisfied with my pre and post op proceedure.  I would highly recommend Dr. Kelly and his staff to anyone considering knee surgery. In fact I am going back to Dr. Kelly in November 2010 for surgery on my right knee.

Emma, Honey Creek, IA

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

In 2008, I went to see Dr. Kelly as it was getting harder and harder to go up and down stairs.  I was referred to GIKK by my primary physician.  When I saw Dr. Kelly, he examined me and took X-rays of both knees. I was told both knees had gotten to the point where they were bone-on-bone. All or most of the cartilage was gone. We first tried gel shots and they seemed to help for a while.  Then I saw Dr. Kelly in 2009 and the pain in the right knee had gotten worse, so I decided to have total knee (surgery).  Since everything went so well, I decided in 2010 to get the left knee done.

Every thing went well on the 2nd time around and I was in and out of therapy in no time.  I can now walk up and down stairs without the grinding of the knees. I have great respect for Dr. Kelly and would recommend him to anyone needing a knee replacement.

John, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I had partial knee replacement on Oct. 25th of 2010.  The recovery is amazing.  I could bear weight on my new knee on the evening after surgery, and could walk with a walker the next day.  Now, 3 weeks after surgery, I can walk unaided with NO pain.  Exercise was and is important.  I saw great improvement each day due to the post op exercises.  I will make them part of my lifestyle for some time to come. 
Dr. Kelly knows his business!!  I am proof of that!

Kenneth, Oakland, IA

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I had a right total knee done June 2010 by Dr. C. Michael Kelly. I certainly would recommend Dr. Kelly as a surgeon! My incision was perfect without the slightest hint of infection. I can now completely straighten my knee for the first time since 1983! I can also bare weight to climb steps with this new knee for the first time in over ten years.  My new knee really has stamina!

Rosalie, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I had total knee replacement in May of 2011 through GIKK Ortho Specialists with Dr. Michael Kelly as the surgeon.  I was extremely pleased with the surgical procedure and have also been very satisfied with the total results of my surgery. Even my physical therapist was impressed with the care and neatness of my incisision and believes that there should be very little scarring. Dr. Kelly certainly has my full recommendation.

Merlin C., Creighton, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

It is without a doubt that the total hip replacement was very successful for me. Dr. Kelly and his team were extremely professional and I very much appreciated my relationship with Dr. Kelly. He is very patient with all my questions! The hip is totally useful and I have no symptoms of a hip replacement. I feel like I have a healthy original joint. When I was in need of surgery for my knee Dr. Kelly was very clear that he was going to try to do a UniKnee but once inside he determined that a full knee replacement was needed. He prepared me for both so there was no surprise. Recovery from a knee replacement was much more painful than the recovery from the hip. I suggest that anyone heading for surgery think of at least six weeks of pain and stiffness, maybe longer. Don't resist the physical therapy - it works!

Dr. J. Campbell, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I had a total left knee replaced by Dr. Kelly a little more than three months ago and it turned out to be the best thing I could ever do. I had been in a slow rate of decline in physical movement for almost ten years and I am already back to activities that I had almost given up on. Dr. Kelly and his staff got me through a (mentally) challenging event in a professional and competent manner. The surgery went flawlessly and the recovery was swift. Joint camp set me up to follow through with physical therapy which Dr. Kelly monitored and I could not be more pleased. If and when I need to have the other knee done, Dr. Kelly is the one to do it. Highly recommended!!!

Richard, Glenwood, IA

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

My experience with my partial knee surgery was very good. The care and concern by Dr. Kelly and his staff was exceptional, as well as that of nursing staff at Midwest Surgical Hospital.


I had my first partial knee done in February, 2010 on my left knee and was very satisfied. The second right partial knee was done December 2010 and again without any problems.

I highly recommend Dr. Kelly for any joint surgeries and will refer anyone of my friends who would be anticipating a knee/hip surgery to contact him. I'm certainly pleased that my GP Doctor referred me to him.

Marlin,  Auburn, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I read about Dr. Kelly & his workshop in the Des Moines Register while I was visiting my sone in Des Moines, but it was full. So I came home and several months later I saw the ad in the Waterloo paper.  So I traveled and went and listened to his lecture. I was very impressed with his caring & concern and I decided to go see him in Omaha.  I scheduled surgery and his care was excellent.  Several months later I had surgery on the right knee.  Check out Dr. Kelly now - don't wait!

Lois, Oelwein, IA

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I had a partial knee replacement at Bergan Mercy Hospital.  My surgeon was Dr. Michael Kelly.

Although one can expect some degree of pain and a need for a period of rehab following surgery, Dr. Kelly prepares his patients carefully so one knows what to expect before and after the operation.  He explained the x-rays in a way I could understand, sent me to a joint class where I learned about the procedures post-surgery.

In just three weeks since the operation I have “graduated” from a walker, to a cane, and finally to even more independence.

If one follows the regimen prescribed, I’m sure one can expect a full use of the knee.  I am well on my way.

Maddie, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

In the '90's, I had a right hip and left knee replaced in Minneapolis.  When we retired, we moved back to Omaha.  To keep an eye on the original replacements, I had to go to 2 different orthopedic doctors because of the specialization... one for hip and one for knees.  Finally, Dr. Kelly was referred to me because he specializes in both hips and knees. We started going to him immediately and he has done a great job and did my most recent replacement which was the left hip... to my great satisfaction. His surgical team did a super job.  I recommend GIKK and Dr. Michael Kelly to anyone, especially one with multiple artificial joints.

David, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dr. Kelly performed total a total knee replacement surgery on January 24, 2011.  I have  not had any major pain since that day.  While doing physical therapy, one student told me that she could not tell which knee had the surgery, since I was walking so well.  One day my therapist was busy so she asked someone else to help me on the bike.  My helper told me to only pedal as far as my knee could go.  When I started to pedal my knee allowed me to go completely around the cycle, needless to say my helper was in shock.

 I do not remember the name of the machine but in my last few weeks of therapy I could stretch and bend my knee to 100.  Way to go Dr. Kelly!

Connie C.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

June 2, 2011 will mark the one month anniversary of my partial knee replacement with Dr. Kelly.  I discarded my crutches after one week and now walk virtually pain free. I am extremely pleased with the surgery outcome.

Chuck N., Urbandale, IA.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I am a 83 years old and had a partial knee replacement on Monday, November 29, 2010 that Dr. Kelly performed and I was discharged home on Wednesday, December 1. Prior and following my surgery, I had the opportunity to visit opely with Dr.Kelly regarding what would be involved with the surgery and what to expect following this process. Dr. Kelly took the time to show me x-rays of my knee prior and following surgery as well as explain what he would be actually doing. The entire joint replacement team made sure I was prepared to go home to my daugher's and always answered any questions I had. My experience throughout this process from pre-op preparation through my out patient therapy was nothing less than excellent and the people were always encouraging during the process. Since I was coming from out of town, Dr. Kelly's entire staff was always available and made sure I had a smooth process upon coming to the Omaha area. Dr. Kelly also called me directly following my discharge home to be sure everything was going smoothly. I would highly recommend Dr. Kelly and his team for anyone needing to have a knee replacement!"

Arthur, Fessenden, North Dakota

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I recently had my left hip replaced by Dr. Kelly. The surgery was very successful with no problems. Back in 2000, Dr. Kelly replaced my right hip. It has lasted me these past 10 years with no problem. I have a great respect for Dr. Kelly and his medical skills. He is very professional and very skillful. I would recommend Dr. Kelly to anyone with hip or knee problems.

Since I am a working Minister and very active, Dr. Kelly's recommendations on exercising with certain equipment has helped me strengthen my hips after surgery. I feel better and movement is not painful. I do what he says and do what he says not to do. I think Dr. Kelly is one of the best hip and knee doctors I know and recommend any one to him for treatment. Thank you Dr. Kelly.

Amos R., Omaha, Nebraska

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I have had knee and hip pain since the early 1990's. If I stood in line for a couple of minutes or more, my knees would lock up and I would break out in a sweat knowing the pain I would be in when I started to move and unlock them. My regular doctor gave me arthritis medicine but after a while, it didn't work anymore. I became friends with a woman at work who had a roommate that was a nurse who worked with Dr. Kelly. For 2 years she tried to get me to see him. I finally did and it was the best thing I ever did. I ended up having both partial knee replacements and both hip replacements. I am able to walk again, without pain. I can't believe the difference it made. I could kick myself for not doing it sooner. Dr. Kelly , the nurses, staff, orthopedic people were wonderful. Joint camp was fun and everyone encouraged each other. After I went home from each surgery, I was only uncomfortable for the first week and by the end of the second week was feeling good enough to go back to work. I took off two weeks for each surgery. Now, I may be able to tolerate pain better than others, but it really wasn't that bad after the first week. If you are having hip or knee problems, go see Dr. Kelly. I love that man and what he did for me! You will too!

Denise S.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dr. Kelly did a full replacement of my knee on June 30, 2010. During the prepatory stage (prior to surgery) he answered all my questions and concerns sympathetically. The surgery was carried out with dispatch and was highly successful and he was equally sympathetic and concerned during the recovery phase.

Mary, Bellevue, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I am a 91 year old woman who has always been very active.  I used to walk about 12 blocks each day until about 2 months before my surgery.  I started having severe pain in my hip that prevented me from enjoying many of my daily activities.  I was in so much pain that it was difficult to even get up and out of a chair.  

I had surgery 6 weeks ago by Dr. Michael Kelly.  I no longer have the severe pain.  I only have an occasional ache in my hip joint.  I would highly recommend you have a hip replacement if you have severe pain and I highly recommend Dr. Michael Kelly without any reservation. There are not many doctors that would perform surgery on an elderly person.  However, Dr. Kelly encouraged me to do the surgery, and I am very glad that I did.

Agnes S.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dr. Michael Kelly performed knee surgery on me in January of 2008 and again this year (2010) in September on the other knee.  I would not have considered having anyone else do my surgery.  His name was given to me by a friend who had both knees done by him and was most happy with her results.  He is not only skilled as a surgeon, but he is thorough and most considerate of your feelings.  It is scary to have surgery and he answers any and all questions to put your mind at ease.  He follows up after surgery in the hospital and also calls you at home the day after you leave the hospital to ask if you are clear on medications and feeling alright.  He follows your PT through the therapists and sees you at 3 weeks, 3 months, and again at a year.  I never had to, but felt I could have called his office any time I might have had concerns.  His staff is professional and helpful also.  If you think you are a candidate for knee surgery I highly recommend you make an appointment to talk to him. 

Mary Ann, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dear Dr. Kelly,

I just wanted to tell you Thank you! About a year ago, I was in severe pain in my left knee. Two months ago, this all changed. My friends convinced me to undergo surgery to enable me to be able to walk without pain. This was not new to me. I had my right knee replaced 4 years ago by you.

I am a walking miracle – not only was the surgery successful, but I have taken no pain pills since the 4th day after my surgery. My rehab is completed.

This year, I can do my own Christmas shopping! Thank you Dr. Kelly, for your compassionate care. I thank God for your talented hands.

Carol G.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I had two partial knees done six months apart. This is my one year anniversary. By the time I had my surgeries, I had put on 50 extra pounds of weight because I was unable to get around. Today, I have lost the 50 lbs and am able to walk 2 miles a day on the treadmill. I walk the 2 miles every day. I also walk my dog without any pain. Thanks Dr Kelly for your care. I really appreciate the physical therapy and encouragement from you staff.

Richard B., Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

After hobbling around for 5 years with each day getting harder to bear, I asked my doctor about it and after looking at an x-ray referred me to Dr Kelly.   I went for a consultation and he recommended a  "uni" on each knee.  I had the first one done on Sept 29, 2010 and the second one done on Dec 29, 2010.  I was advised by a cousin that had both of her knees done to exercise ahead of time and recovery time would be shortened.  I did that and it was.  I could not believe how fast the recovery was.  The surgery went great, Dr. Kelly did a wonderful job and always explained everything and double checked everything to make sure there were no problems.  I have absolutely no pain and am looking forward to spring and getting out and walking.  I may even dig that old bicycle out and start using it again.

Susan, Omaha, NE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dr. Kelly has offered the opportunity to express my opinions and experience with the partial knee replacement surgery he performed on my right knee some time ago, in the year 2005 to be exact. Firstly let me say that the right knee has given me absolutely no problems in the more than 5 years since the surgery and the recovery was much shorter than expected. To give a picture of my activities let me state that my home is a tri-level. This means that exiting from the garage through the basement there is a flight of stairs to the lower level, another flight of stairs to the mid level and another flight of stairs to the upper level where my home office and master bedroom are located. After leaving joint camp I had no difficulty in handling all those stairs on daily basis.

To say that I am pleased with the results would be a major understatement, suffice it to say that I am currently consulting with Dr. Kelly to perform the same procedure on my left knee.

Jim B.



Would You Like To Make An Appointment To See Dr. Kelly?
Click Here To Find Out How.

© 2009-2011 Dr. C. Michael Kelly, M.D. • Design by Chip Thompson